Writers – First Visualize Your Success

Writers are blessed with the gift of imagination.  You may assume everyone is able to conjure new worlds, rich in detail and history, or characters beautifully flawed, but imagination is a talent of degrees.  Just like the athlete, born with natural grace who must build their skill, a writer must apply their gift of day dreaming. 

Think of day dreaming as your mental exercise, schedule time each day to imagine, just like you schedule time to work out.  

Put the power of your mind to work by visualizing a successful future. Before you can succeed at any endeavor, you must first succeed in your mind.  You must dream a better life for your self before you can live it, and you must be willing to take action to make it a reality. Without action, your vision is a day dream; with action, it’s a plan for your future. 

According to Tony Robbins “if you want to achieve your goals and master any area of your life—your finances, your health, your relationship—you must first develop a compelling vision to get you excited about what it is you’re striving to achieve.”

Here is an exercise to help you visualize what you really, really, really want.

Write a journal entry as though you have just experienced the perfect day.  Really challenge yourself to be descriptive and detailed, use all your senses and begin from the moment you opened your peepers. 

 My ideal starts something like this –

 I left the windows open last night so I could hear the waves lapping onto the shore.  As I fell asleep, I realized my heart beats to the same rhythm.  It was a chilly when I woke up this morning, so I didn’t want to leave the snuggly warmth of my bed. The crisp white sheets and down comforter encase me like a safe, warm cocoon. The aroma of vanilla bean coffee finally lured me out of my sanctuary. It was probably for the best, because I had a busy day ahead.  First coffee, then I called my agent to discuss my latest manuscript.  She’s practically panting for a copy since my last book made the NY Times Best Sellers List. 

Before doing this exercise I had a vague idea about my dreams but I had never actually visualized them in such detail.  I know I want to be a writer – not where I would live.  I know I want to travel – not where I’ll go. 

Another suggestion to help you visualize your goals is to create a vision board. Use photos, magazine clippings or power words that represent your dreams.  If you want a new car, find a photo of the exact model and color and then visualize yourself behind the wheel. Take one step further and imagine the new car smell, the feel of the leather upholstery, the soft sound of music and silence of the road. If you’re in a convertible, imagine the warmth of the sun on your face and the cool breeze in your hair.

Now that you have a clear vision of what you want, consider the steps required to accomplish your goal. Just knowing how to achieve your dreams will make them more concrete.

The steps I need to take in order to be a best selling author –

1) Write everyday, finish my manuscript and hire top notch editor.

2) Query agents, study the market, self promotion and press releases.

3) Pay off existing debt, reduce expenses, and invest more in 401K.

4) Embrace constructive feedback, discard unconstructive criticism and persist, persist, persist.

5) Write everyday, start next manuscript and send candy to top notch editor.

 Now all you have to do is decide if you are willing to take action. If the answer is yes, start right now. 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a comment